jaylenn

Defending Rap Music

In Entertainment on June 8, 2009 at 11:30 pm

Throwback video from Chris Rock’s Never Scared performance in Washington, D.C.  I randomly thought of it as I was listening to Drake’s “Best I Ever Had” single.  My mother finds the unedited version extremely offensive and as I began to defend some of the lyrics (“That’s only one part of the song!  He’s not talking just about sex!”), I instantly thought of Chris Rock’s monologue about defending rap music.

As I’ve gotten a little older, I’ve actually started to appreciate hip-hop more.  I never really listened to it or got into the culture but somehow I’ve started to gravitate toward the music- downloading mix tapes and researching up-and-coming artist(s). However, as a young, African-American female (raised in the Catholic school system) the lyrics of today’s artists sometimes make me cringe.  

Am I advocating artists stifling the creative process and censoring their work?  No, but couldn’t Drake just as easily have said, “Baby, you’re the best” as opposed to “You the f*****in’ best?” I think soo… I love the radio version of the song, the album version I play a little less frequently.  

Vodpod videos no longer available.

more about “Chris Rock about Rap Music“, posted with vodpod
Leave a Reply

